ATG (or not)

As I have established, I can squat with 100kg (and little more). What I can’t do is squat below parallel (or even close to parallel) with 100kg. I don’t have enough mobility to do ass to the grass (ATG) squats. So what’s a gym bunny to do? Practice and work on this issue of course. I decided to do some mobility exercises before the workout and use them also as a warmup at home before stretching.

I found these two quick mobility guides (and did the second one). First and the second. Now you do it too! 🙂 I’ve noticed that mobility is something I need to work on, so I will add it to my weekly schedule. There, promised.

2013-01-17 16.05.04

Today’s workout was for legs and back mainly.

  • ALATG (as low as they go) Squats: 10 * 20kg, 10 * 25kg 10 * 30kg, 10 * 35kg
  • Barbell Deadlift: 10 * 50kg, 8 * 55kg, 6 * 60kg, 4 * 65kg
  • Romanian deadlift: 10 * 50kg, 8 * 55kg, 6 * 60kg, 4 * 65kg
  • Barbell bent over row: 4 * 6, 50kg
  • Lat machine: 3 * 10, 40kg
  • Weighed decline situps: 4 * 15, 5kg
  • Sidebends: 3 * 12/side, 16kg

This was fun workout. Plus I managed to do deadlifts with 65kg, new PB! 🙂

2 responses to “ATG (or not)

  1. It sounds brutal, but they don’t really count unless they’re at least parallel. Otherwise they’re just partials. How low are you going? I see a lot of people doing what I would call ‘semi squatting’ in the gym – basically just bending their knees a little. Nowhere near to thighs parallel to ground or lower, which isn’t squatting. Mirrors can help work out how low you’re going – it can sometimes be hard to judge by feel.

    I’m still working on going lower and getting flexibility etc., because I was / am having problems with going real low too. Years of wearing heels didn’t help, and I’ve now banned myself from wearing them on a day to day basis – it’s making a real difference to my achilles tendons, which had shortened.

    The reason I’m picking this up is your squats seem out of line with the weights you’re doing with everything else, so I’m guessing you definitely need to go a lot lower, and that the depth just isn’t there yet. As my trainer is always telling me, form is everything!

    Most people deadlift a lot more than they squat. So with me (for example) I’m currently squatting 60 kgs (full squat beyond parallel) for all my reps (7 sets – x 10 / x 8 / x 6 / x 4 / x 4 / x 4), and deadlifting 100 kgs (going for a PB of 110 kgs this week woohoo!). I think that’s a pretty typical weight difference, although so few women do either that the stats just aren’t available online 😦

    You might also find this table useful, although I’m not sure how accurate it is: http://www.exrx.net/Testing/WeightLifting/SquatStandards.html There are links to the standards for bench and deadlifting at the bottom of the page. It’s in pounds, but nothing’s perfect 😦

    Cheers 🙂

  2. Thanks for a great comment! I know that my 100kg squat was nearly perfect (I was just curious about how much I can handle and where is that point where my squat turns to “I’m just bending my knees here”), and that is to say I don’t consider being able to squat perfectly with 100kg/220lbs. My PT has not commented much about the depth of the movement, and I’d estimate that with 90kg I did both parallel and very close to parallel. I decided to take the weights down and really focus on the technique.

    There is a reason for why my squat “results” are a bit out of line. I’m a figure skater and a synchro skater, which means that the legs are well trained and that the upper body is probably weaker than it should be.

    And what it comes to deadlifts, I’m still working on the technique and form with those. I just did my first one’s in November or December, and I don’t want to fuck up my back by doing deadlifts really really wrong…

    That link was great, thanks for that too 🙂 And I have to say, your comment pretty much could’ve been something I thought after the 110kg squat attempt 🙂

Leave a Reply

