Friend Makin’ Monday: Childhood Flashbacks

Did you have a set bedtime as a child?  If so, what was it? I remember it being 9PM. On Saturdays I got to stay up until 9:30PM 😀

Were you taught to be a member of the “Clean Plate Club?” Did it have affect your eating habits as an adult? I didn’t. We had this “You eat what you get on your plate, and you can always have some more. But let’s not waste food”-club. I wouldn’t say it has affected my eating habits as an adult at all.

Share one thing that you were not allowed to do as a child. I can’t remember that many things to be honest. I was a pretty independent kid, since my mom was a single parent. I got a home key with me and I was allowed to play outside as much as I wanted. Of course there were limits where I could go, and I was a good kid, I didn’t break the rules. Well, maybe sometimes we went 50m over the told lines, but no more.

What is the cheapest gas price you can remember? The gas prices here are now about 1,67€ to 1,70€ per litre. That would make it 8,12$ – 8,26$ per gallon. It’s hard to say the cheapest, since before prices were in Finnish marks and not Euros. But I have a vague recollection that one litre was 5 FIM or less. Which would make it 0,8€ / liter (3,89$/gallon).

What was your favorite thing on the playground? Swings! And jumping off them. And the rope things you could climb on. Like this:

RS115

Share one thing that your parents always made you do that you didn’t like doing. Clean up my room.

Do you remember your first kiss?  If so, share the details! I was probably 13 or 14, it was my first boyfriend and it happened on our way from school. 🙂

Did you prefer to play inside or outside? Both. I was happy to be outside, but insides were good too. I played a lot alone, but that’s not to say I was lonely or that I didn’t have any friends. I just liked being by myself.

What was your favorite TV show growing up? Bergerac, Der Alte. And I remember when we started to have MusicTV. I would almost be late from school, since I just had to watch Vanilla Ice and Ice Ice Baby. From our very very small black and white tv. Oh the happy times 😀

Share one awesome childhood memory. The best memories are from our summer house. All my cousins and aunts and uncles and mom and grandma and grandpa were there, and we played, made pancakes, swam in the ocean and that sort of thing. One midsummer we were at the cottage as usual, sitting by the fire (there was like 30 of us at least) when a sail boat approached, anchored and two people we didn’t know came to shore. My grandpa went to talk to them, and as a result those two joined our little evening meal. They had seen the tents and a lot of people, and thought that it’s a camping place…

Bonus: Share a picture of yourself as a child.  

photo (15)

 

I’m in a rush to get to the sea 😀

2 responses to “Friend Makin’ Monday: Childhood Flashbacks

  1. Your summers remind me of mine at my grandparents house on the lake with all of my aunts and uncles and cousins around.
    I never broke the rules either. I was too good for my own good.

  2. I remember jumping off of a swing at school when I was in first grade, and getting my butt paddled by the principal. I went to a private Christian school and I got paddled a LOT there.

Leave a Reply

