Finnish baseball (and some running)

Once a year, a friend of mine invites her friends to a sand field to play some Finnish baseball. A lot of standing, plenty of running after the ball and some sprinting from base to base. I have never been great, good or even mediocre in the fine art of Finnish baseball. But who cares, I wanted to play anyway.

2013-07-21 15.01.51I’m a decent what it comes to throwing the ball. So I spent most of my time on the outer field. It was fun to play. Last time I played must have been about 10 years ago. Can’t blame me for too much practicing 🙂

2013-07-21 15.01.57Our Swedish player played well, and apparently he’s invited next year too. Everyone had troubles hitting the ball, but we did have a good time still. My team took a beating and we lost 20-10 or something like that.

After the game, I ran home. Now I’ve done my four runs for this week. Next week, it seems that there’s four again (45min, 30min, 100min and 45min). Three times a week is good. Four is a bit too much. But I’ll just do what my calendar tells me, and I’ll survive the half-marathon.

Distance: 5.0km, Avg.pace: 7:13 min/km, Avg.speed: 8.3 km/h

Total distance run this year: 236km

 

Leave a Reply

